On this page, we address the current legalities of motorcycle riding without a helmet in Florida.
Current status on Helmet Law in Florida
Under Florida State Law, any person above the age of 21 and covered by adequate insurance ($10,000) is not required to wear a helmet.
Questions & Answers on Florida Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Is it legal in Florida to ride a motorcycle without a helmet?
According to Article 3(b) Chapter 316.211, anyone above the age of 21 covered by medical insurance of at least $10,000 is not required to wear a helmet.
Minors and remaining adults have to wear helmets, on the other hand.
Is Florida a mandatory helmet State?
No. Florida is a Partial Helmet Law state.
Are half helmets legal in Florida?
Yes, half helmets are legal in Florida, but only if they are DOT approved.
When did Florida pass the helmet law?
Florida passed the helmet laws on June 6, 2000.